Heaven’s Grocery Store

I was walking down life’s highway

a long, long time ago. 

One day I saw a sign that read,

“HEAVEN’S GROCERY STORE.” 

As I got a little closer, the door opened wide,

and I found myself standing inside.

 

I saw a host of ANGELS.

They were standing everywhere. 

One handed me a basket and said,

“My Child, shop with care.”

 

Everything a human needed

was in that grocery store. 

And if you couldn’t carry it all,

you could come back the next day for more. 

 

First, I got some PATIENCE. 

LOVE was in the same row.

Further down was UNDERSTANDING,

you need that everywhere you go.

 

I got a box or two of WISDOM,

a bag or two of FAITH. 

I just couldn’t miss the HOLY GHOST,

for it was all over the place.

 

I stopped to get some STRENGTH and COURAGE

TO HELP ME RUN THIS RACE.

By then my basket was getting full,

but I remembered I needed some GRACE.

 

I didn’t forget SALVATION,

for SALVATION was free. 

So I tried to get enough of that

to save both you and me. 

 

Then I started up to the counter

to pay my grocery bill.

For I thought I had everything

to do the MASTER’S will.

 

As I went up the aisle, I saw PRAYER;

and I just had to put that in,

for I knew when I stepped outside,

I would run into sin.

 

PEACE and JOY were plentiful;

they were last on the shelf.

SONG and PRAISE were hanging near,

so I just helped myself.  

 

Then I said to the angel,

“Now, how much do I owe?”

 

He smiled again and said,  “MY CHILD,

JESUS PAID YOUR BILL A LONG, LONG TIME AGO.”

 

 

 

By Ron DeMarco

C Copyright 1990 ~Used With Permission~

Leave a Reply

